Posted by: becketfund | March 26, 2008

India: Sixth Indian State Approves Anti-Conversion Law

JAIPUR – The Indian state of Rajasthan has approved a new anti-conversion law after two years of parliamentary debate, AsiaNews reported on March 26. The new law, which prohibits conversions by “force, allurement, or fraudulent means” sets a fine of 50,000 rupees (about 1,260 USD) or a prison term of up to five years for anyone who is convicted of involvement in such activity.  Concern over the new law stems from the fact that anti-conversion laws have frequently been used to invalidate conversions in the past, even before an official inquiry has been made into whether or not there had been any coercion involved.  In addition to Rajasthan, five other Indian states currently have anti-conversion laws: Arunachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Himachal Pradesh.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: